CHAI @ RAJIV MAJUMDAR’S 450 Sqft HOME

17Jul08

*An Indian By Design Exclusive*
Rajiv Majumdar’s 450 sq ft apartment had just enough space for his 6 foot 4 frame, his guitars, books and speakers. Though it did have its plus points. Enough light from a long balcony and enough freedom to break down all the walls as the flat belonged to his mother.

The first thing he did was break a few walls – the kitchen, the balcony, the bathroom and the bedroom. Then set up a fully equipped kitchenette with a sliding mirror door that shut when not in use, which is almost always (I did suggest he dismantle it and set up a phone, for takeaway).

The Living (he designed everything including that big comfortable bench and the delightful rug, except for, of course, the ‘insert drumroll here’ Eames Chair)
01

01b

The Dining (Love the Orange school chairs)
02

The Kitchenette
04

05

06

The industrial metal pipe four poster
032

The sliding door bathroom with a Vespa seperator.
07

08

The steel bucket sink
10

09

The Wardrobe against the window

11

The plan
15

Rajiv Majumdar
14

Note (September 2012): All images in this post belong to the architect Rajiv Majumdar and the photographer Mallikarjun Katakol. Please contact them for permissions to use the same.

48 Responses to “CHAI @ RAJIV MAJUMDAR’S 450 Sqft HOME”

  1. 1 Amit Tiwari

    Hello sir, I need your help I am from gorakhpur (U.P) i have one plot (27 x 39 sq ft). I want to construct it, can you please provide me a good desgin for 3 bed room and on bat set.

  2. 2 MUKESH KUMAR

    Hi Rajiv,
    I have an open land and area is width 15″ and length is 30″ . I want to construct as per the below plan
    Ground:- Car Park and one guest room
    First Floor: Species Kitchen (5″ x 6″), one room attached bathroom, wall cupboard and one dinning hall
    Second Floor: the same like first floor
    My plot is 2 sided open and area can be increased by 3″ extra for first floor in both side for balcony.

    Please suggest me best plan and if you have any office in Delhi then please let me know so that I can personally visit also.
    Thanks
    MUKESH KUMAR
    9910233125

  3. 3 9964645670

    Hi, I am plan to construct house in 18 X 25 sqft , east-west = 18ft Norht-South(Road) – 25ft. Please suggest me best plan

  4. 4 AVINASH MISHRA

    Hi Rajiv,
    I have an open land and area is width 15″ and length is 30″ . I want to construct as per the below plan
    Ground:- Car Park and one guest room
    First Floor: Species Kitchen (5″ x 6″), one room attached bathroom, wall cupboard and one dinning hall
    Second Floor: the same like first floor
    My plot is 2 sided open and area can be increased by 3″ extra for first floor in both side for balcony.

    Please suggest me best plan and if you have any office in Delhi then please let me know so that I can personally visit also.
    Thanks
    Avinash Mishra
    9716364324

  5. 5 desai deep , sangli

    I like that design. I have 15*35 ft land . I want your suggestion for 1bhk with steps on ground floor. Pls give me your suggestion. Thanks

  6. 6 Ajit

    I have a 900 sq ft land and now I know what I have to do. I am going to build a house only on 450 sq ft and leave rest for a nice garden. Can anyone tell how much would it cost to have same interiors like that of Rajiv’s.

  7. 7 rafiq

    i want plan map with sqfts for 15×30

  8. 8 smita

    I love that design I have house of 15 by 30 feet(450 sq ft). I want to construct it.I want to make it duplex with 2 floor. It is facing towards East . as my house is having two sided common wall with the neighbors. Please suggest.

  9. 9 smita

    I love that design I have house of 15 by 30 feet(450 sq ft). I want to construct it.I want to make it duplex with 2 floor. It is facing towards East . as my house is having two sided common wall with the neighbors. Please suggest.

  10. 10 ashok

    Hi Sir,
    I love that design
    I have house of 15 by 30 feet(450 sq ft).
    I want to construct it.I want to make it duplex with 2 floor.
    It is facing towards East . as my house is having two sided common wall with the neighbors. Please suggest me with the best plan.

    • 11 Subhash Jha

      Hi I also ahve a similar requirement for 15 ft by 30 ft plat size facing west and two side are covered with neighbors.

      Can share your design with us

  11. 12 ankush

    sir i hv 15*30 plot. kindly suggest me design for the house

  12. 13 janardan

    sir a having aplot of 30×42 plz suggest a best design

  13. 14 AMANDEEP GOYAL

    I HAVE A PLOT OF 34’X62′.BUT WE ARE ONLY TWO MEMBERS ME AND MY 6 YEARS OLD SON.WE ARE NOT PERMANENT HERE.I WANT TO CONSTRUCT ONLY 450-500 SQFT. AREA. KINDLY SUGGEST ME SOME PLAN LOOKWISE AND REST OF AREA MAY BE DEVELOPED AS GREEN.

  14. 15 vinod

    Dear Rajiv ji please send me plan

  15. 16 vijay singh lodhi

    Hi Suresh here,
    I impressed so much rajiv. I have also similar dream. I am owning a 15 ft width and 30 ft deep open land. Can you please tell me the plan to construct a duplex . Pls. help me . vslodhi@owmnahar.com
    Reply

  16. 17 Naresh

    Hi Sir,
    I love that design
    I have house of 15 by 30 feet(450 sq ft).
    I want to construct it.I want to make it duplex with 2 floor.
    It is facing towards west . as my house is having two sided common wall with the neighbors. Please suggest me with the best plan.

  17. 18 Ashwin

    Hi Sir, I have house of 30 by 15 feet(450 sq ft).
    I want to construct it.I want to make it duplex.
    It is facing towards west . as my house is having three sided common wall with the neighbors. Only front side is used for the windows. Please suggest me with the best plan.

  18. 19 waseem khan

    Dear Sir
    we have old house we are demolish and want to make niew house
    our plote area is 14.9 ft. and 31 ft. its a L shape plot means, we want ground floor one room and whole holl and Ist and 2nd floor two room, kitchen and bath room,
    pls help us and suggest and sent a design on my male ID: waseem25jan@gamil.com

    Thanks and regard
    waseem khan
    delhi

  19. 20 Dharma

    Hii Rajiv

    Am very impress on your design in 450 sq ft .Can you help me ?

    I am planing to demolish our old house and going to Build a new House , can You advice me few Plans ? I need Ground floor, 1st Floor & a Open terrace house with 3 bedrooms. size of land 19’x27′. please contact me in taren.sill@gmail.com

    Rgds
    Dharma

  20. 21 suresh

    Hi Suresh here,
    I impressed so much rajiv. I have also similar dream. I am owning a 15 ft width and 30 ft deep open land. Can you please tell me the plan to construct a duplex while leaving ground floor for parking. Pls. help me suresh9441@gmail.com

  21. 22 Subham

    hi all,

    My old home is exactly 30×13 with 10 ft verandah in the front. I am planning to squash it completely and build a nice home. My eternal desire to have first floor terrace in the front above original verandah and then 1bhk house.

    Now only problem, this house is 30×13 so width wise it is not too big, within which I want to make it really appealing. I saw lots of websites on net but could not come up with anything enchanting.

    Can you guys suggest something ? Please use your creativity to post some nice home plans for my pretty much linear home. I think I can combine living with kitchen and living sort of opens to front terrace where I intend to create a nice garden.

    thanks for your input in advance.

    Subham

  22. 23 Deep

    Can you please pass Rajiv’s contact address

  23. 24 Abhijit

    Wow! This is really stunning.

    Do you know where the Eames chair was bought from, by any chance?

  24. 25 punitha

    I have a 1000 sf ft apartment, that i am dissatisfied with and now, have a purchased a bungalow 2900 sq ft b.u and 5400 l.a and am stumped as what to do about it. Having seen your masterpiece, I am truly floored! Thank you for sharing.

  25. Came across this via Twitter and I must say this was brilliant! Love the minimalism and fantastic use of components as well as space. Great job!

    Cheers,
    A

  26. Wow, Rajiv

    This is a terrific piece of planning and design! I was trying to redo our largish 1BHK in Bandra to now fit our 2 yr old and Suzanna Kurian pointed me your ways. Any chance you might be in Bandra for a possibility to meet?

    Love your house!
    Thanush

  27. 28 adhish

    Super Cool! The only thing I’m not sure about though is the Eames chair without the ottoman. Sacrilege IMO.

  28. 29 jyotsna mishra

    Dear,
    sir/madam,
    sub:to get a work experience for five months starting from june.
    I am Jyotsna mishra a 6th sem B.Arch student from Manipal Institute Of Technology, Manipal,Karnataka. Kindly, let me know if you take interns , it will be pleasure to work with your team and it will be a lifetime opportunity to work under you. Kindly let me know so that i can mail you my portfolio, CV and any required documents. Looking forward for your reply.
    thanking you,
    your’s sincerly,
    jyotsna mishra
    (student M.I.T Manipal)

  29. 30 Ryan

    Hi Rajiv,

    I’m Ryan, I’m a writer with a magazine and would like to feature your apartment in an interiors piece I’m doing this feb. could you please mail me at iluvcranberries@gmail.com if you’re interested and we could take it from there.

    Thanks.

  30. Landed on this blog through IndiBlogger links, and cherish the content here. This very post depicting one Rajiv’s 450sft remodeled flat is simply awesome… not to forget the blog author’s/ owner’s photography skills.

    It simply doesn’t look like a 450 sft flat. Nice planning and execution of the idea.

    One request, (please believe, its not for the sake of a posting only), can we mention about this post on our blog with a brief excerpt and note about it so as to share the good work and nice idea and planning with our readers too.

    Thanks.
    (for Team B-n-M)
    Shelly

  31. 32 uday

    simply…super…cheers

  32. 33 Kunal Gajbar

    loved the wardrobe.. great detailing especially the back of the wardrobe….
    the Eams Chair commands respect in the house…
    a gr8 loking bachlors pad..
    cheers

  33. 34 Annmm

    Love the clever use of space…

  34. hi there , really enjoyed the spunk in the apartment … guess i missed the spunk in you when we first met … .. appearences are always deceptive! … smile …
    good show man !

  35. 36 Rajiv

    Hey

    Thanks for sending in my apartment to apartmenttherapy.com!

    Big hugs!

  36. 37 kajal

    WOW..

    Loved the steel bucket sink….
    And quite unbelievable that it’s a 450 sq ft apartment.. it looks so spacious, uncluttered and beautiful !!

  37. 38 Chippy Gangjee

    Why do I get the feeling that I know Rajiv?

    Do I?

    A-knee-way What an interesting and superbly done 450 sq ft home!
    Terrific use of light.

    Kudo’s to the designer and Rajiv – if your the same guy I used to know in B’lore – i’m not surprised at the Soooper way you’ve done your home ;o])!!!

    All the Very Best.
    Cheers!

    Chippy Gangjee

  38. 39 Namita Mansingka

    Pat on the back to the designer….coz just going by these pics no one can imagine that its only 450 sq ft…..

    Kavita…love the work you are doing…love the paintings on this site….will have to buy some …..

    next time I am in bombay we have to meet up…unless ofcourse your memory completely fades out…as to my existence…ha ha just kidding!!

    keep up the great work!!

  39. Love the use of light and space, makes it look fab anothe one to check out is model turned interior designer Fleur Xavier’s design for a house in Bandra….simply fab

  40. 41 Rajiv

    Damnit Shabnam, you were meant to come visit with the babies! Amrish shouldn’t have sent you this link.

    Subu, you have a lovely home. Any house that serves monster portions of pork chops gets two thumbs up!

    • 42 Seema Sreedharan

      Dear Rajiv,

      I’m doing an article on ideas for small spaces for the July issue of GoodHomes and it would be great if I could talk to you regarding the same. Would you please help me with your contact details?
      My email id is seema.sreedharan@gmail.com

  41. 43 shabnam

    really quite amazing rajiv! am most impressed!!

  42. 44 Subu

    Blow me away! Just for having seen this, you (Rajiv) will not be allowed to enter my house, until I’ve done something outlandishly stunning with it! And Kavi – always been a fan of your blogs. This one takes the cake. Take a bow.


  1. 1 Inspiration in sleekness — Design Scouting
  2. 2 Hello, Gallery Walls — Design Scouting
  3. 3 Abbey Goes Design Scouting » » Hello, Gallery Walls
  4. 4 Abbey Goes Design Scouting » » Inspiration in sleekness

