Just Spotted! SpasticsPlastic

09Feb09

Creative director and partner of an advertising and design agency Sunny Side Up, Somak kneads clay when he’s not doing ads. Here are a few from his collection SpasticsPlastic. I loved the way he gives each a disctinct character, in name and form; makes me wonder which came first.

Moochwala

Moochwala

Ponga bit a chilli

Ponga bit a chilli

James Hedgepalli

James Hedgepalli

Colonel Humph

Colonel Humph

Satan

Satan

Baatliwala

Baatliwala

Grumpy Dadoo

Grumpy Dadoo

Mr Holboolala

Mr Holboolala

Clay faces and clay comic strip on his blog SpasticsPlastic.

25 Responses to “Just Spotted! SpasticsPlastic”

  1. this is a very nice blog .. and I was really impressed by looking at the clay work. I would love to learn it. How can I go about doing it………………..

  2. this is really cute stuff!!

  3. beautiful!

  4. 4 rakhi

    Ey mok….I just saw your link on that website, aajkei…actually I just saw that website for the first time aajkei. Congratulations on getting featured there…and good to know you’re still doing the clay characters…daroon!!! I esp. like hedgepalli (he’s accessorised) and moocha (so simple, so effective)…oti shundor, khoob impressive!

  5. 5 SOI 3

    SOMAK, very impressive work. I still have some work of urs with me….

    • 6 somak

      hey, you for got your name!
      thanks though, n am guessing you’re in b’kok on some soi saam!

  6. 7 Suman

    Excellent work!!
    I was really impressed by looking at the clay work. I would love to learn it. How can I go about doing it?

    • 8 somak

      thanks suman! with clay, i pretty much figured it out on my own but a bit of experience with terracotta from sculpture and pottery classes way back in art school helped.
      i’d say pick some clay up and start playing around. the clay will teach you everything else.

  7. 9 Mrudul

    Phew!!!

    I thought as much, had to be you, i could see those characters coming out of your brain. Chalo good to know. I was wanting to feature the moochwala in my magazine but cant since they are not sold any where.

    Good to hear from you Somak….take care.

  8. 10 somak

    hi mrudul,
    you mean fine arts baroda? yes, am the one! you didn’t leave your second name but since you asked, i am guessing you’re the same mrudul from applied arts, MSU.
    i don’t sell my clay work.. not yet, cause i haven’t figured out a medium that is permanent. these are made of soft clay on wire armatures and don’t last too long. i reuse the clay after i’ve shot the figures.
    cheers!

  9. 11 somak

    hi mrudul,
    you mean fine art baroda? yes, am the one! you didn’t leave your second name but since you asked, i am guessing you’re the same mrudul from applied arts, MSU.
    i don’t sell my clay work.. not yet, cause i haven’t figured out a medium that is permanent. these are made of soft clay on wire armatures and don’t last too long. i reuse the clay after i’ve shot the figures.
    cheers!

  10. 12 Mrudul

    hey Somak

    Came across your creations, love them. Do you sell them? If yes where do you retail them from? Can you share the details please.

    Also are you somak from Fine Arts?

  11. 13 Sudeepa

    Hi,

    First time here..loving this blog, Congrats Somak. I love these..they are so cool..especially the Moochwala and the Grumpy Dadoo..reminds me of my dadu..
    absolutely awesome.

  12. 14 Mansi

    The moochwala reminds me of Moochad Panwala at the Kemp’s corner junction, Mumbai. Loved the way you captured the emotion of the names you’ve given your creations.

  13. loved the moochwalla! 🙂 very creative!

  14. 16 Natasha

    I love the drunk Baatliwala…also enjoyed the sunny side blog…

  15. 17 Rimona

    The name is Hedgepalli. James Hedgepalli. love that little fella!!

    absolutely amazing stuff. Somak you are truly talented!

  16. wonderful wrk…..

  17. Super interesting!

    Great work by Somak:-)

    Arch

  18. 20 sangita shirali

    Hi Somak,
    Checked your blog. Your work is quite a piece of art. Do you also sell them? I’d like to buy some…

  19. Oh so nice and different style ! totally loving this !Ofcourse the moochwala is the best!

  20. 22 somak

    thanks guys! ankit i did try a few full figures in situations.
    you can check em out on
    http://spasticsplastic.blogspot.com/

  21. 23 suzanna

    this is the first time i’m spending time here. love love love every single post of yours. they’re all tiny li’l treasures. love ’em. love u 🙂

  22. 24 ankit

    great work …
    i think the artist should attempt more than faces too… it’ll be good to see that

  23. 25 Aparna

    sooo cool! loved the Ponga bit a chilli. I ma so in love with your blog.



