Caught my eye> Khatri Khalid Amin

22Mar11

“Seventeen year old Khatri Khalid Amin was born in Ajrakhpur, a village whose industry originates in the 4000 year old Ajrakh natural dye printing tradition. Khalid’s unique perspective as a rural designer has materialised in highly individual works, minimal and expressive representations of the landscape around him, whether it be overlaid antique block prints depicting the infinite Gulf of Kutch or the many textures of the Thar Desert.”

His debut collection of stoles is now available at Bombay Electric.
Pictures and text via Bombay Electric.

6 Responses to “Caught my eye> Khatri Khalid Amin”

  1. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources
    back to your website? My blog site is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my visitors would truly benefit
    from a lot of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this alright with you.
    Thank you!

  2. 2 Bishakha

    Khatri Khalid Amin and his unique textile arts create a new dimension in representing the future of Crafts in India. Though one must give credit to Kala Raksha Vidyalaya, the ingenious creative educative haven founded by Ms Judy Frater who is an Ashoka Fellow and Sir Misha Black Awardee for Design Education. This unique Design School in Kutch has been specially founded and created for Traditional Artisans and Khalid is an alumni of this Traditional Gurukul for Design.

  3. I went to Ajrakhpur as a student when I was studying in Gujarat. It’s a fascinating place, isn’t it! Lovely to see these contemporary designs from Khalid. A delight!

  4. Really nice work…it was good to know about it. Thanks!

  5. Stunning work..thanks for sharing.



